No.

Local Government (Amendment) Act

2017

COUNCIL

## NUMBER OF PARAMOUNT CHIEFS

16	Bo City Council	One
17	Bonthe Municipal Council	None
18	Kenema City Council	One
19	Koidu/ New Sembehun City Council	Two
20	Makeni City Council	One
21	Port Loko City Council	Two
22	Freetown City Council	None

MADE this 10th day of May, 2017.

MAYA MOIWO KAIKAI, Minister of Local Government and Rural Development. BILL

 $\frac{\textit{Supplement to the Sierra Leone Gazette Vol. CXLVIII, No. 24}}{\textit{dated 11th May, 2017}}$ 

No.



2017

Sierra Leone

## A BILL ENTITLED

The Local Government (Amendment) Act, 2017.

Short title.

Being an Act to amend the Local Government Act, 2004, to provide for the addition of new Districts created under the Provinces (Administrative Division) Order, 2017 and other related matters.

[ ]

ENACTED by the President and Members of Parliament in this present Parliament assembled.

Amendment of First Schedule of Act No.1 of 2004. No.

1. The First Schedule to the Local Government Act 2004 is amended—

(a) in Part 1 –

(i) in paragraph A by inserting –

"Falaba District" immediately after "Kenema District";

"Karene District" immediately after Koinadugu District—

(ii) in paragraph B by inserting immediately after "Freetown City" the following new cities-

Bo City;

Bonthe City;

Kenema City;

Koidu-New Sembehun City;

Makeni City;

Port Loko City.

(b) in Part II by repealing and replacing that part with the following new part –

## PART II

The number of Paramount Chiefs in each Local Council shall be as follows-

	COUNCIL	NUMBER OF PARAMOUNT CHIEFS
1	Bo District Council	Three
2	Bombali District Council	Two
3	Bonthe District Council	Two
4	Kailahun District Council	Three
5	Kambia District Council	Two
6	Kenema District Council	Three
7	Falaba District Council	Two
8	Koinadugu District Council	Two
9	Karene District Council	Two
10	Kono District Council	Three
11	Moyamba District Council	Three
12	Port Loko District Council	Two
13	Pujehun District Council	Three
14	Tonkolili District Council	Three
15	Western Rural District Council	None